I am not voting in the 2016 Presidential Election

In light of the second presidential debate I thought now would be as good of a time as any to share that I will not be voting in the 2016 election.

I am 18 years old, this is my first opportunity to make my voice heard and count in America, but I will not be taking advantage of that.

“Every vote counts”

“You need to exercise your right to vote”

“Do you just not even care?”

These are the response I get when people find out that this is the decision I’ve made. Yes, I realize we are extremely lucky to be able to have a voice and a say in our countries future and I feel it’s something we take for granted. No, it is not because I don’t like Trump or Clinton, it has nothing to do with any of that. I feel that voting in an election is a huge responsibility, a responsibility I am not ready to take on due to my lack of education. I could not even tell you if I am a democrat or a republican because I do not know what either side truly stands for, and I feel that is true for many people my age.

Politics in the 21st century are truly a new kind of world, you have people sharing their opinions all over Facebook and Twitter, even many articles you read have a bias to them . What happened to keeping political views out of social interactions? Every other post I see is someone supporting Donald Trump or someone bashing him. What makes it even worse is when it’s someone I graduated high school with just throwing together a string of nonsense into a post on Facebook. So many people my age have political views based on other people’s opinions, whether it be their parents or from people are the internet. This is why I will not be voting in the 2016 presidential election.

I have not had the opportunity to form my own opinions. I have been flooded with biases and incorrect facts. I have seen this election from everybody else’s eyes but my own. By voting I will be making an uninformed decision.This November I will not be upholding my responsibility as an American citizen. I will not be voting in the 2016 presidential election.

Until next time…much love,

Mackenzie

2 thoughts on “I am not voting in the 2016 Presidential Election

  1. I regret not learning more about the candidates and what their platforms. I also am upset that only the republican and democratic nominees get the chance before the nation on national television to bash one another disguised as a debate. I feel unprepared as a young voter and feel like it’s only partially my fault.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

